It’s sweeter than a million melons!

So, Reneca and I were talking on the phone early this evening. Her youngest, DJ, is like a voracious breastfeeder at 8 months old. While I was on the phone with her she said he was practically attacking her boob. Well, I told her that he is going to be hard to wean and that he might have to go cold turkey into a breastfeeding rehab! lol Just playing around we joked about how he would be all grumpy, irritable and probably have the shakes. So, as we were joking around I told her that I wanted to make a bet on how long he would breastfeed, between her new husband and me (or is it I? anyway). I want to get it on record that I think he will breastfeed until he is 2 1/2 years old. Duan said he is cut off on November 2, 2008 (the day he turns 1). Then he said one of the funniest things I have heard in a while. He said no family member of his would be talking about breastmilk, saying that it is “better than a mango” or “I’d rather have a whole lot of breastmilk than a million melons!” No matter what he says my bet still stands!

He was referring to a youtube video they had seen about two sisters. One was 5 years old and had just stopped breastfeeding and an 8 year old who was still breastfeeding. You can see for yourself below…

Leave a comment